Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli

October 28, 2007

Begin the booktalk with an excerpt from the story’s first two paragraphs on page 1:

 “I am running. This is the first thing I remember. Running . I carry something, my arm curled around it, hugging it to my chest. Bread, of course. Someone is chasing me. Stop! Thief! I run. People. Shoulders. Shoes. Stop! Thief!. “
Meet Misha. He’s a young boy with nothing left to lose. And when you have nothing to lose, you have nothing to fear. But fearcan keep you safe. It can keep you out of trouble.And it can keep you from getting killed. But Misha doesn’t know fear. He doesn’t know how dangerous  the Nazis are. And if Misha doesn’t know how much danger he is in, how can he survive it?

Leave a Reply

